Credit cards in Guyana
Compare credit cards in Guyana
This editorial comparison brings together Scotiabank Guyana and Guyana Bank for Trade and Industry (GBTI). We use official product pages, application materials and fee schedules; where an issuer does not publish a card-specific figure, we say so rather than estimate it.
Data is manually reviewed each month. Current issuer documents and the signed agreement prevail.
| Feature | Scotiabank GuyanaScotiabank Gold Mastercard | Guyana Bank for Trade and IndustryGBTI Classic Credit Card |
|---|---|---|
| Product type | Credit card | Credit card |
| Currency | GYD | GYD |
| Credit limit | Not stated on the public product pageSource: Scotiabank Guyana: Credit cards and rates & fees | Not stated in the public application material reviewedSource: GBTI: Gold and Classic credit card application |
| Nominal / effective rate | Not stated on the public product pageSource: Scotiabank Guyana: Credit cards and rates & fees | Not stated in the public application material reviewedSource: GBTI: Gold and Classic credit card application |
| Interest-free period | According to statement cycle and cardholder agreementSource: Scotiabank Guyana: Credit cards and rates & fees | According to statement cycle and cardholder agreementSource: GBTI: Gold and Classic credit card application |
| Minimum payment | According to statement and cardholder agreementSource: Scotiabank Guyana: Credit cards and rates & fees | According to statement and cardholder agreementSource: GBTI: Gold and Classic credit card application |
| Monthly maintenance | Not statedSource: Scotiabank Guyana: Credit cards and rates & fees | Not statedSource: GBTI: Gold and Classic credit card application |
| Annual fee | GYD 11,750Source: Scotiabank Guyana: Credit cards and rates & fees | US$35Source: GBTI: Gold and Classic credit card application |
| Cash advance fee | According to current rates and fees scheduleSource: Scotiabank Guyana: Credit cards and rates & fees | According to current schedule of chargesSource: GBTI: Gold and Classic credit card application |
| Balance transfer fee | Not statedSource: Scotiabank Guyana: Credit cards and rates & fees | Not statedSource: GBTI: Gold and Classic credit card application |
| Rewards / cashback | Up to 4% cashback on purchasesSource: Scotiabank Guyana: Credit cards and rates & fees | Not statedSource: GBTI: Gold and Classic credit card application |
| Insurance and benefits | Purchase Protection up to US$200 per occurrence; optional protections may applySource: Scotiabank Guyana: Credit cards and rates & fees | Not statedSource: GBTI: Gold and Classic credit card application |
| Basic conditions | Subject to Scotiabank Guyana credit approval and current requirements. | Subject to GBTI assessment and the bank's application requirements. |
| Availability | Guyana; Scotiabank Guyana. | Guyana; GBTI. |
Our recommendation
Scotiabank Gold Mastercard is the clearer fit for shoppers who value published cashback and purchase protection, although its GYD 11,750 annual fee is higher. GBTI Classic Credit Card has a lower published annual fee of US$35 in its application material, but the public documents reviewed do not state a card-specific interest rate or credit limit. Approval, pricing and eligibility remain subject to the issuer.
Our methodology
- We compare only official issuer pages, applications, agreements and fee schedules.
- We do not infer an APR, credit limit, minimum payment or cash-advance fee when the source does not state it for the named card.
- The data is intended for monthly manual review; the issuer terms and the signed agreement prevail.
More information
Frequently asked questions
Which credit cards are compared in Guyana?
We compare the Scotiabank Gold Mastercard and the GBTI Classic Credit Card.
Which card publishes cashback?
Scotiabank Gold Mastercard publishes up to 4% cashback on purchases. GBTI materials reviewed do not state a cashback rate for the Classic card.
What should I check before applying?
Check the current interest rate, credit limit, minimum payment, annual fee, cash-advance charges, insurance, eligibility and the cardholder agreement with the issuer.
Official sources
Scotiabank Guyana — Scotiabank Gold Mastercard
Reviewed: 2026-07-23
- Scotiabank Guyana: Credit cards and rates & fees — card features, annual fee and protection
- Scotiabank Guyana: Credit card rates & fees — current rates and charges
Guyana Bank for Trade and Industry — GBTI Classic Credit Card
Reviewed: 2026-07-23
- GBTI: Gold and Classic credit card application — annual fee and application terms
- GBTI: Schedule of Charges — card charges and fees
Important information
This is an editorial comparison, not a credit offer or financial advice.
Rates, fees, limits and approval depend on the issuer and individual assessment.
Local decision protocol · Guyana · GYD
How to use this Credit Cards page
Use Credit Cards as a starting point for a decision in Guyana, not as a promise of access. Record your figures in GYD, retain the date of each check and separate sourced facts from questions that remain open.
Before signing, reconcile quotation, schedule and agreement. Confirm currency, amount received, term, interest basis, fees, security, arrears and early settlement. Save a dated copy and the complaint route. This guide structures evidence; it does not rank institutions, invent missing prices or guarantee an individual credit decision.
In Guyana, compare the disclosed interest basis, fees, repayment schedule and eligibility for the same amount and term.
Read membership and security requirements before treating a product as available. Ask what evidence is needed and at which stage. Do not infer that one institution follows another institution’s rules. The useful comparison shows the boundary between a published product feature, a personalised assessment and a condition that still needs written confirmation.
Start with one amount, one term and one repayment purpose. Record the disclosed interest basis, instalment and total for that exact scenario. Do not compare a bank quotation with a credit-union example until membership, security and access conditions are explicit. A separate row is safer whenever the underlying borrower assumptions differ.
Credit Cards: Collect statements, receipts and obligations in a dated file; figures should reconcile with the application and every difference needs explanation.
Credit Cards: Test a month with higher transport and utility costs without cutting food or medicine; remaining margin matters more than a payment that only just fits.
Credit Cards: For self-employment, separate turnover from disposable income and reconcile several statements; a one-off receipt is not repeatable monthly capacity.
Credit Cards: Review arrears and due dates before convenience: record consequences, charges and the complaint route if a payment is not credited.
Credit Cards: Compare digital and in-person channels by documents, security, timing and complete cost, not advertised speed.
Before acting on Credit Cards, match the institution and domain with Bank of Guyana, retain the complete offer and stop if a charge, condition or complaint route cannot be explained.
Bank of Guyana · Official source
Editorial review
Rostislav Sikora
AI Orchestrator and loan comparison specialist
Rostislav Sikora reviews Credizen editorial structure so comparisons stay clear, useful, and focused on total borrowing cost.
Data protection: 2026-07-06