Canadian credit card comparison
Credit cards in Canada: CIBC Classic Visa vs Scotiabank Scene+
We compare two cards from different Canadian issuers by annual fee, purchase interest, cash advance costs, minimum payment and rewards.
Figures are checked manually each month. Current issuer documents remain authoritative.
| Feature | CIBCClassic Visa Card | ScotiabankScene+ Visa Card |
|---|---|---|
| Product type | Credit card | Rewards credit card |
| Currency | CAD | CAD |
| Credit limit | Minimum credit limit applies; exact limit is individualSource: CIBC: Classic Visa Card | Not stated on the comparison pageSource: Scotiabank: no annual fee cards |
| Purchase interest rate | See current CIBC annual interest and fee summarySource: CIBC: annual interest rates and fees | 21.99% purchases; 22.99% cash advancesSource: Scotiabank: no annual fee cards |
| Interest-free period | According to statement and card agreementSource: CIBC: Classic Visa Card | According to statement and card agreementSource: Scotiabank: no annual fee cards |
| Minimum payment | According to CIBC payment formula and statementSource: CIBC: annual interest rates and fees | According to statement and agreementSource: Scotiabank: credit card fees |
| Monthly fee | Not statedSource: CIBC: annual interest rates and fees | Not statedSource: Scotiabank: credit card fees |
| Annual fee | $0 in the published summarySource: CIBC: annual interest rates and fees | $0Source: Scotiabank: no annual fee cards |
| Cash advance | See current fee summarySource: CIBC: annual interest rates and fees | Greater of $5 or 1% of transaction at Canadian ATMs under current fee scheduleSource: Scotiabank: credit card fees |
| Balance transfer | See current fee summarySource: CIBC: annual interest rates and fees | Greater of $5 or 1% of balance transferSource: Scotiabank: credit card fees |
| Rewards / points | Not statedSource: CIBC: Classic Visa Card | Scene+ points on eligible purchasesSource: Scotiabank: no annual fee cards |
| Insurance and benefits | Not statedSource: CIBC: Classic Visa Card | Not statedSource: Scotiabank: no annual fee cards |
| Basic requirements | Approval subject to CIBC credit assessment. | Approval subject to Scotiabank credit assessment. |
| Availability | Canada; CIBC offer. | Canada; Scotiabank offer. |
Recommendation by use case
CIBC Classic Visa may suit someone looking for a card with no primary annual fee according to the published summary. Scotiabank Scene+ Visa may suit someone who values Scene+ points and no annual fee. Rates and approval depend on the card agreement and applicant.
Our methodology
- We use official issuer pages and annual interest and fee summaries.
- Rates and fees are dated and may change; current issuer disclosures prevail.
- Unpublished figures are shown as not stated, without estimates.
- Recommendations are independent of remuneration and no affiliate links are used.
More information
Frequently asked questions
What should I compare on a Canadian credit card?
Compare annual fee, purchase and cash advance interest rates, minimum payment, balance transfer fee, foreign exchange fee and rewards conditions.
Does Scotiabank Scene+ Visa have an annual fee?
Scotiabank lists a $0 annual fee, 21.99% purchase interest and 22.99% cash advance interest for the Scene+ Visa card on its no-annual-fee page.
Does CIBC Classic Visa have an annual fee?
CIBC’s published annual interest and fee summary lists no annual fee for the Classic Visa product; verify the current summary and card agreement.
Official sources
CIBC — Classic Visa Card
Reviewed: 2026-07-23
- CIBC: Classic Visa Card — product features and minimum limit
- CIBC: annual interest rates and fees — official rates, fees and minimum payment
Scotiabank — Scene+ Visa Card
Reviewed: 2026-07-23
- Scotiabank: no annual fee cards — annual fee, rates and Scene+ rewards
- Scotiabank: credit card fees — cash advance, transfer and foreign transaction fees
Important information
This page is an editorial comparison, not a credit offer or financial advice.
Rates, fees, limits and approval depend on the issuer and individual assessment.
Credizen
Editorial review not recorded.
Advertising or partner fees do not determine recommendation order.